new music

New Music Round Up – 06/06/17

We’ve made it into June, and our favourite music artists show no signs of slowing down over the summer.

Once again, this week’s New Music Friday was bursting with incredible new releases from the likes of Fifth Harmony, Major Lazer, 5 After Midnight, Hey Violet, and Manel Navarro. We also saw new albums from Dua LipaAll Time Low, and Halsey.

As usual, if you’re still craving some more new tunes to listen to then CelebMix has you covered. Here’s some of the best new music releases which you might have missed out on.

Olly Murs – ‘Unpredictable’ featuring Louisa Johnson

‘Unpredictable’ is a much-loved track from Olly Murs’ latest album, 24 HRS. However, it’s now been released as his new single and has been turned into a collaboration featuring Louisa Johnson. The pair are currently embarking on a summer tour across the UK where we hope they’ll be performing their hot new duet.

Lorde – ‘Perfect Places’

‘Perfect Places’ is the third track to be unveiled from Lorde’s forthcoming sophomore album, Melodrama. In a Facebook post, Lorde said: “This is a special one. I was living in New York during summer last year, writing melodrama – I’d ride across the Brooklyn Bridge every day, or sit on the subway uptown in the heat, then go back home to New Zealand winter for a week at a time to party with my friends. My life was like a weird little Etch-a-Sketch I kept scribbling on and resetting. And all last summer, I couldn’t shake the feeling that everyone I knew or saw was searching for something – trying to transcend the news and the screaming pavements, drinking that one drink hoping it’d get them someplace higher. This song comes from that endless cycle of evenings and the violent heat of the summer. It took us a very long time to get right, from an aching piano demo to where is it now. It’s close to my heart. I hope you like it.” ‘Perfect Places’ follows on from ‘Green Light’ and ‘Liability’.

‘Perfect Places’ is available now.

Julia Michaels – ‘Uh Huh’

Julia Michaels continues her transition from renowned songwriter to superstar songstress with her second single ‘Uh Huh’. After the runaway success of her debut track ‘Issues’, Julia continues to prove that she is a force to be reckoned with. ‘Uh Huh’ is completely different from anything that’s in the charts at the moment and shows Julia’s sassy side. There is something truly special about Julia Michaels, and we can’t wait to hear what else she’ll deliver on her forthcoming EP, Nervous System.

‘Uh Huh’ is available now.

Ansel Elgort – ‘You Can Count On Me’ featuring Logic

Multi-talented actor, DJ, producer and musician Ansel Elgort is flexing his vocal chords once more, teaming up with Logic again for new song ‘You Can Count On Me’. The track is a chilled bop which is a must add to any summer playlist. Ansel’s deep vocals are hypnotic, and Logic’s rap gives the song a lift in the middle. The pair previously collaborated on ‘Killing Spree’ which appeared on Logic’s album Everybody.

Duke Dumont & Gorgon City – ‘Real Life’ ft. NAATIONS

Some of the most powerful names in dance music have teamed up for a brand new collab. Duke Dumont and Gorgon City have joined forces for ‘Real Life’ featuring NAATIONS, which is set to be your new favourite summer anthem. The two production heavyweights have delivered an infectious song which showcases NAATION’s soaring vocals. Get ready to hear this at all the best parties and festivals this summer.

Cosmos & Creature – ‘Bad Drug’

Brandyn Burnette and Molly Moore, aka Cosmos & Creature, are back with another infectious offering. ‘Bad Drug’ is an electro-pop song which the duo have been playing on the road for the past year, although it’s great to finally have a studio version. The song was featured on Spotify’s New Music Friday playlist although we think it’s a track which you should all be adding to your playlists asap.

Jake Alder – ‘Going Under’ featuring Caswell

Producer Jake Alder is back with a new vibrant-synth based track called ‘Going Under’. Teaming up with London singer Caswell, the track has a chilled vibe whilst also showcasing a great beat. Caswell’s vocals also flow beautifully over the song, creating something rather mesmerising. Speaking about the track, Jake said: “I wanted to step up the intensity from my previous track ‘Chasin’ Time’ and make a fuller and more fluid production. After hearing Caswell’s vocals I knew her haunting delivery would fit perfectly too!”

Joseph of Mercury – ‘Young Thing’

Joseph of Mercury is back with another powerful offering called ‘Young Thing’. Drawing comparisons to artists such as Roy Orbison, Leonard Cohen, Morrissey and David Bowie, Joseph’s dark and atmospheric vocals are bound to capture your attention. ‘Young Thing’ follows on from his previous two singles, ‘Find You Inside’ and ‘Without Words’.

ADAL – ‘Fire To You’ featuring FREJA

‘Fire To You’ is the latest track from ADAL (formerly of Brighton art-pop act Phantom Runners). Teaming up with Danish vocalist FREJA, ‘Fire To You’, the ballad is about unrequited love. ADAL said: “It started off as a story of running away with someone, sneaking off and laying low together with visions of meeting up alone, late-night blue neon, laundrettes and an empty dance hall.”

Let us know which is your favourite new music release from this week by getting in touch on Twitter @CelebMix


Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina