Artist 101: JP Cooper

Hailed as “The future sound of Radio 1” by Zane Lowe, JP Cooper is fast becoming a household name.  Born in Manchester on the 2nd November 1983, this self-taught singer/songwriter is best known for featuring on the single Perfect Strangers by Jonas Blue.  The song was certified platinum in the UK and reached number 2 in the UK singles chart.

Soon after the success of Perfect Strangers, JP Cooper was back with his follow-up solo single September Song which also placed highly in the UK charts, and is the lead song on his forthcoming debut album Raised Under Grey Skies.  The new album will be released on 22nd September 2017 and is available to pre-order right now.

The track listing for “Raised Under Grey Skies” is as follows:

1. Raised Under Grey Skies
2. September Song
3. She’s On My Mind
4. Good Friend
5. Wait
6. Table For Two
7. The Only Reason
8. Passport Home
9. Closer
10. All This Love
11. Change
12. Beneath The Streetlights & The Moon
13. In The Silence
14. Momma’s Prayer

And if you fancy the deluxe version, there are 7 extra songs to enjoy!

15. Masterpiece
16. Tidal Wave
17. Party
18. Perfect Stranger (JP Cooper Version)
19. Lost Boy Dreaming
20. September Song – Guitar acoustic
21. Passport home – Piano acoustic

JP Cooper is signed to Island Records and has been influenced by music legends such as Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder and Björk.  Early on in his career, he even connected with a Gospel Choir in Manchester.  This comes as no surprise after hearing JP’s soulful vocals on tracks September Song and his latest single Passport Home.

Lyrically, JP’s songs are always full of depth and really feel like he is telling a story.  It is this ability to connect with his audience that leaves us feeling like we have just walked a mile in his shoes.

If you fancy seeing him perform your favourite songs live then you are in luck, as he has just announced a European tour! JP will be visiting cities all over Europe from London to Paris, Barcelona to Milan, Helsinki to Berlin and may more in between.  Full details of the tour and ways to get tickets are available on JP’s official website

Something you may not know about JP Cooper is that he also wrote a song called Birthday which features on the soundtrack for the movie Fifty Shades Darker, and he also recently performed as part of a huge line-up of artists at Capital’s Summertime Ball!

Something tells us here at CelebMix that we’re going to be hearing a lot more about JP Cooper in the future!

You can find out more about JP Cooper on his official website, or why not follow him on Twitter @jpcoopermusic .

And if you’re wondering what the “JP” stands for, it’s quite simply his name – John Paul!

What’s your favourite JP Cooper song? Are you going to any of his upcoming European tour dates? Let us know @CelebMix!

Written by CelebMix