DoReDos chosen to represent Moldova at Eurovision 2018

Moldova becomes the latest country to select their representative for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. Trio DoReDos were the favourites from the start and tonight won the country’s national selection show O Melodie Pentru Europe with the catchy, up-tempo song “My Lucky Day”. The winner was decided by a fifty-fifty combination of jury and public votes, with DoReDos coming out on top in both. They will be heading off to Lisbon in May to perform in the second semi-final with hopes of qualifying for the grand final.

O Melodie Pentru Europe received twenty-eight entries from hopefuls hoping to represent their country at this years Eurovision. The Moldovan broadcaster TRM then narrowed these down to the best sixteen, who all got to perform in the live final of the contest tonight.

You can watch DoReDos perform “My Lucky Day” below:


Moldova is fairly new to the Eurovision Song Contest, only debuting in the contest in 2005. After some mixed results over the years, the country finally achieved its best result (a top three finish) in 2017. Sunstroke Project’s energetic performance of their catchy, upbeat hit “Hey, Mamma!” saw them score well, especially with viewers. This followed three years of not qualifying for the grand final.

Moldova will be hoping to either match their result from 2017 or do better and finish in the top two this year, however, they already have some tough competition. Other acts that have been announced so far are Sennek for BelgiumSaara Aalto for FinlandWaylon for the NetherlandsAISEL for AzerbaijanCesar Sampson for AustriaJessica Mauboy for AustraliaEugent Bushpepa for Albania, Iriao for Georgia, Madame Monsieur for France, Julia Samoylova for RussiaAlfred & Amaia for SpainMikolas Josef for the Czech RepublicRyan O’Shaughnessy for IrelandEleni Foureira for CyprusChristabelle for MaltaZibbz for SwitzerlandSuRie for the United KingdomRasmussen for Denmark, Ermal Meta and Fabrizio Moro for ItalyEye Cue for F.Y.R Macedonia, Franka for Croatia, Netta Barzilai for Israel, Gianna Terzi for Greece, Vanja Radovanovic for Montenegro, Sanja Ilic and Balkanika for Serbia and Michael Schulte for Germany.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2018 will be hosted at the Altice Arena, Lisbon, Portugal; with the two Semi-Finals taking place on 8 May and 10 May and the Grand Final taking place on 12 May. A total of 43 countries will compete in the contest.

Finally, don’t forget to let us know your thoughts on Moldova’s selection of DoReDos for this year’s Eurovision. You can tweet us your thoughts on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Lynn Macgillivray

I'm Lynn - a writer, accountant and lover of all things music (especially a good boyband). Twitter: @xxitslynn