new music round up

New Music Round Up – 29/08/17

With August drawing to a close, we’re slowly making our way into the Autumn months. However, there’s no need to feel down about the end of summer, as our favourite artists are at it again, delivering huge tracks for our enjoyment.

The biggest new music release this week came from Taylor Swift. After mysterious teasing on social media, she made her comeback on Friday with ‘Look What You Made Me Do’, the first track to be taken from her forthcoming album Reputation.

Fifth Harmony released their self titled third album, which includes new track ‘He Like That’ whilst Demi Lovato also released the title track from her sixth album Tell Me You Love MeFergie dropped two new tracks ahead of the release of her new album Double Dutchess, whilst Miguel made a welcome return with ‘Sky Walker’ featuring Travis Scott.

Former Hometown member Ryan Mack made his solo debut with ‘Nobody Like You’, whilst DNCE teamed up with the legendary Rod Stewart for a re-release of his hit single ‘Do Ya Think I’m Sexy’. During the week we also saw new releases from Thirty Seconds To MarsSofia CarsonSean Bradford & Claremont, and Brendan Hines.

As usual, we’ve still got a load more new music releases we’d like to share with you! Check out some of the best of the rest which were released this week.

Martin Garrix – ‘Pizza’

Martin Garrix is back with a new anthemic dance track, and despite the name, there’s nothing cheesy about it! ‘Pizza’ was showcased as the closing song during his set at Tomorrowland earlier this year, and since then his fans have been going wild for it. Rumour has it that the title started as a joke, but we think it’s great! The track is so euphoric, and even has a beautiful string instrumental.

Rashelle – ‘Hundred’

Singer-songwriter Rashelle is back with her beautiful new single ‘Hundred’. The track is a late night RnB jam which showcases her saccharine vocal tone and sexy delivery. Speaking about the track, she said: “I usually put out music that’s very feisty and has a lot of edge to it, but this track shows my softer side and a more organic approach to writing… I originally penned it on the piano and it was such a beautiful piece, very emotionally driven lyrically. My producer then put this cool Soca beat around it and I couldn’t stop listening to itIt’s my new baby!”

Tafari – ‘To The End’

Tafari Anthony has released a new single called ‘To The End’, ahead of his EP Remember When which will drop on September 1. The soulful mid-tempo offering showcases the singer’s mesmerising vocal. Speaking about the track, he said: “To The End is an anthem for anyone trying to accomplish their dream regardless of what people have to say about it and pushing through your own self-sabotage to achieve it. ”

Luke Bryan – ‘Light It Up’

Country artist Luke Bryan is back with his new track ‘Light It Up’. Written by Luke alongside Old Dominion member Brad Tursi, the track serves as the first taste from the hitmaker’s upcoming album which is set for release later this year. The track has a poppier feel, but Luke will be hoping to emulate the success achieved by his last album Kill The Lights. He became the only artist in the 27-year history of the Billboard Country Airplay chart to score six No. 1 singles from one album.

Roman Scott – ‘Stuck In Paradise’

Roman Scott returns with his new single ‘Stuck In Paradise’. The pop-funk track channels elements of soul and jazz, all tied together by a great production. Speaking about the track he said: “Allured into a world that isn’t quite what you expected… You’re curious, but guarded. You release and let go, falling to a place you realise you can never leave. You’re addicted, and now stuck… in paradise – The track came to me shortly after I’d heard ‘Me and Your Mama’ by Childish Gambino. At the time I’d been listening to a few different artists and they helped shaped the style of the track, but Gambino, Jungle and Tame Impala were at the forefront.” ‘Stuck In Paradise’ is the first track to be taken from his forthcoming EP.

Micky Blue – ‘Good Love’

‘Good Love’ is the slick new release from Micky Blue. Channelling pop/RnB vibes with a slice of synthesizer bliss, the track is an easy listen which you can lose yourself in. Speaking about the track, she said: “We all have someone in our life who’s a narcissist and it can really weigh you down, especially if you care about the person in spite of their aggravating traits. ‘Good Love’ is about letting go of that burden and finding your peace; it’s easier said than done, but writing this song gave me a healthy perspective on multiple parts of my life. I’m hoping it does the same for those who listen and clears out any negative energy that’s lingering in their lives too.”

Hannah V – ‘We March On’ featuring Natalie Williams

London based music producer, songwriter, pianist and keyboard player Hannah V is back with her new track ‘We March On’. Laden with RnB pop influences, delicate piano and a hip hop beat, the track is both infectious and anthemic. The song is complimented by Natalie’s adventurous filtered vocal and motivating lyricism. Speaking about the track, Hannah said: “‘We March On’ was written about human resiliency and the ability to keep moving forward, even at the toughest of times. We’ve all been there, right? Those moments in life that knock you down and out. Yet at some point something clicks in you – you get up again and keep marching on. This song is a celebration of that survivor spirit and strength in all of us.”

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix


Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina