new music round up

New Music Round Up – 03/10/17

October is here and whilst we’ve spent most of today referencing Mean Girls (if you know, you know), we’ve also been basking in the bundles of new music which was released during the past week.

The main focus of this week’s New Music Friday was a trio of albums from some of our favourite female superstars. Demi LovatoMiley Cyrus and Shania Twain have all released brand new albums which have delighted their huge fanbases (and us).

Beyoncé also released her first new track since giving birth to twins earlier this year. She joined forces with J Balvin for a remix of ‘Mi Gente’ which will benefit the hurricane and earthquake relief efforts. Pixie Lott and Stylo G dropped a hot new collab, whilst DisciplesROZESEmily Middlemas and Concept also unveiled incredible new songs.

In one of the busiest New Music Fridays of the year, we also saw new releases from The Motans featuring INNAFrank Iero and the PatienceCody Simpson and The WaveTemecula RoadEli LiebAMiRLoreenGreyRSO Richie Sambora & OrianthiJarrod DickensonJ.CobbPresley TennantJoakim MolitorTerror Jr, and KIIRA. Phew, have you kept up?!

Whilst we’ve already thrown a ton of incredible new offerings at you, we’d like to think that you have room for a few more on your playlist. Here’s eight additional new songs you need to be listening to.

Pink – ‘Beautiful Trauma’

‘Beautiful Trauma’ is the title track from Pink’s forthcoming seventh album. Co-written with Jack Antonoff, the emotional anthem showcases the songstress’ voice perfectly and gives another insight as to what we can expect from her album. Pink took to Twitter to speak about the song, stating: “I wrote the song with a very awesome person @jackantonoff and named the album after it (because) life is f*cking traumatic. But it’s also incredibly beautiful, too. There’s a lot of beauty still and beautiful souls. Enjoy.” The Beautiful Trauma album will be released on October 13.

PRETTYMUCH – ‘Teacher’

New boyband sensation PRETTYMUCH are back with another incredible single, ‘Teacher’. The band, made up of Brandon, Austin, Zion, Edwin, and Nick, previewed the track via an acoustic performance before unveiling the studio to the world. Once again, the five piece have shown why they’re ones to watch in the industry. Combining a slick sound with their undeniable chemistry, we’re certain that PRETTYMUCH are going to be the next big thing. ‘Teacher’ follows on from their debut single ‘Would You Mind’ which has garnered over seven million Spotify streams since its release.

George Kwali – ‘When It Breaks’ featuring Lonestate

George Kwali is back with another infectious track called ‘When It Breaks’, which features anthemic vocals from Lonestate. Speaking about the track, George said: “I just wanted to make a big, rolling marching brass record that would sound great in the club. I hope people enjoy it as intended, I’m excited for people to finally hear new music.” As well as the radio edit, an extended version has been released from Icarus, who have been working closely with George to rework the original.

Off Guard – ‘Strawberry Moon’

‘Strawberry Moon’ is the second single from Long Island alt-rock band Off Guard. The track allows the relatively new band to display a mature, well-developed sound. Speaking about the track, the band said: “I think we can all relate to a song about needing to be on your own to find yourself. This song is a metaphor for all of the hard work that we’ve done and the things that we had to leave behind going into adulthood. We want people to be hit with the same feelings and thoughts that we were experiencing when we wrote the song.”

Mike Mago – ‘Dangerous Behaviour’ featuring Tiggi Hawke

‘Dangerous Behaviour’ sees Dutch DJ, producer, and record label owner Mike Mago team up with rising pop sensation Tiggi Hawke. The track is slick and infectious, showcasing both artists’ strengths. Speaking about the track, Mike said: “For me, ‘Dangerous Behaviour’ is all about empowerment. While the song itself sounds light-footed and energetic (I feel that is somewhat my trademark), the lyrics are meaningful and layered. It is my first in a row of tracks where I move a bit away from my normal 4×4 stuff. For those who know me from that, not to worry. There’s a cheeky VIP edit coming alongside the release.” Tiggi added: “‘Dangerous Behaviour’ is written for someone who makes you act out your desires – even if you would never normally dream of it – by taking you out of your comfort zone and empowering you. It was written about a very positive experience, so the song has a lot of energy and is quite playful. It’s about letting go and challenging them to keep up with what they started!”

Born Stranger – ‘This Is My Life’

Born Stranger, made up of Maddox-Jones and Raife Hacking, are back with their electric new single ‘This Is My Life’. Co-produced and mixed by Yoad Nevo, the track is full of the duo’s signature vocal-hook manipulation, and proves to be another catchy electro synth-pop offering. Speaking about the track, they said: “‘This Is My Life’ is a defiant statement about self identity. It can be all too easy to conform and fall into the trap of living how the media tells you too. This is a song about celebrating the mavericks and the dreamers of this world.”

Laura Llorens – ‘Inside Out’

‘Inside Out’ is the poignant new offering from Laura Llorens. Written and composed by Laura and produced by Charlie Chastain, ‘Inside Out’ is dedicated to all those people suffering from the loss of a loved one to suicide. Speaking about the track, Laura said: “This song was written in the memory of Naghmey Aby Samb, an amazing friend and fellow performing artist and writer. It took me a long time to let go of the loss of my friend.” The track is relatively upbeat considering its topic, but aims to shed a light on suicide prevention and mental health issues in the music industry and beyond.

LA River Bend – ‘Summer Wind’

Americana/folk band LA River Bend are back with their new track ‘Summer Wind’. Made up of Nate, Emily, Branden, and Jacob, the track showcases stunning harmonies, driving drum beats and infectious indie folk-pop melodies, all whilst creating an unique sound. ‘Summer Wind’ is the ultimate feel-good love song which is guaranteed to make you bop along. The track is taken from their forthcoming debut EP, Run These Hills.

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina