new music round up

New Music Round Up – 28/11/17

Welcome back to another New Music Round Up! With 2017 slowly drawing to a close, it’s been a phenomenal year when it comes to music. However, our favourite artists are still keen to share a few more offerings before the year is out.

K-Pop sensations BTS have been busy taking over the world this year, and after the release of their album Love Yourself: Her, they’ve unveiled a remix of ‘Mic Drop’ with Steve Aoki and Desiigner. Elsewhere, Avril Lavigne and Jonny Blu ae fully in the Christmas spirit after releasing a cover of ‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’.

This week also saw huge releases from a number of X Factor alumni. Little Mix, the only band to ever win the show, released a platinum version of their album Glory Days, whilst last year’s winner Matt Terry dropped his debut album Trouble. 2012 winner James Arthur also released a new single called ‘Naked’. Former contestants Sam Callahan, Kiera Weathers, and Gregor Coleman have also released new singles.

Additionally, there were new releases from Roman Road, LoreenOrfila, Brandon Stansell, Sam Feldt, and Slum Sociable.

However, we’ve still got a few more offerings to share with you! Here are seven more tracks you need to add to your music playlists.

Craig David and Bastille – ‘I Know You’

‘I Know You’ is the hot new collaboration from Craig David and Bastille, taken from Craig’s forthcoming album The Time Is Now. On paper, the collaboration doesn’t sound as if it should work but the styles of the two artists actually blend really well together. Speaking about the track, Craig said: “I’ve been a Bastille fan for a long time and we’ve been waiting for the right moment to collaborate. I’m so excited to release this track and hope you love it as much as I do. Hearing Dan’s voice on this kind of record is a special moment, when we perform this live its going to absolutely go off, and I can’t wait to play it in my TS5 set this summer.” The track was performed live for the first time on Sounds Like Friday Night.

One Bit and Noah Cyrus – ‘My Way’

Electronic duo One Bit, made up of Jonty Howard and Joe Murphy, have teamed up with Noah Cyrus for their incredible new single ‘My Way’. The song is absolutely electric and has a thumping dance beat. The combination of One Bit’s slick production and Noah’s distinct vocals make this the perfect song for any nightclub across the world. ‘My Way’ is Noah’s latest collaboration, having already released tracks with Marshmello, Alan Walker and Matoma.

Jessica Agombar – ‘Two Minds’

‘Two Minds’ is the slick new offering from rising east London singer-songwriter Jessica Agombar. Taken from her forthcoming second EP Bullet For Your Love: Chapter 2, ‘Two Minds’ received its premiere on DJ Target’s 1Xtra show. Speaking about the track, Jessica said: “I wrote ‘Two Minds’ when I felt like my creativity was at its peak but pressure to deliver was at its highest. I was about to sign my publishing deal to Stellar songs/Sony ATV and I felt like I needed to press pause and remember that pressure never a plays a part when writing a song. I used that emotion as fuel to write ‘Two Minds’, it came from excitement, angst and a feeling to win musically on my own terms.”

Sonny – ‘Yesterday’s Gone’

Soulful singer Sonny is back with his new track ‘Yesterday’s Gone’, the follow up to his critically praised debut EP Hopeless Romance. Showcasing his spellbinding vocals once more, the heartfelt ballad is incredibly personal and talks about a broken relationship that, after many times of trying, sadly cannot be fixed. The compelling ballad proves that Sonny has only just touched the surface with regards to his talent – we can expect even greater things from the 18-year-old next year.

Anna Leone – ‘I Never Really’

‘I Never Really’ is the widely anticipated second single from Anna Leone. Produced by Bryan Wilson, the piano-led track showcases Anna’s unique vocal and unrivalled emotional honesty. Speaking about ‘I Never Really’, Anna said: “The song deals with the idea of suppressing things you don’t want to deal with and wondering if that’s right or wrong and how that impacts your life and relationships. This is the most recent song I’ve written and the latest one recorded in the studio so it all came together very quickly. I was writing a lot at home and this one stood out as something very sincere. I discovered the riff first and everything sort of fell into place after that, both the lyrics and the melody.”

Maleek Berry – ‘Pon My Mind’

‘Pon My Mind’ is the new single from British-born Nigerian artist and producer Maleek Berry. The track follows on from the global success of his Last Daze of Summer EP which spawned the hit ‘Kontrol’. Written and produced by Maleek, ‘Pon My Mind’ received its premiere on Mista Jam’s 1Xtra show and is taken from his forthcoming First Daze of Winter EP. The track fuses a number of sounds and influences including RnB, African, reggae and hip-hop.

Feder – Breathe

Breathe is the brand new four-track debut EP from French producer Feder. The EP follows on from his previous track releases, including ‘Lordly’, ‘Blind’, and ‘Goodbye’. Breathe showcases Feder’s slick production skills across four tracks: ‘Breathe’, ‘Remember Your Name’ featuring Timothy Auld and Ana Zimmer, ‘Indian Summer’, and ‘Stay There’ featuring Quentin Kysyl. The EP rounds off a superb year for Feder and gives us a small insight into the future music we can expect from him next year.

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix



Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina