new music round up

New Music Round Up: 13/02/18

Welcome back to another New Music Round Up! Each week seems to be coming around quicker than the last, with even more new releases from some of our favourite artists.

This week saw the launch of the new era of music from Scottish DJ Calvin Harris. He dropped his brand new single ‘Nuh Ready Nuh Ready’ featuring Canadian rapper PARTYNEXTDOOR.

James Bay made a welcome comeback into our lives with new single ‘Wild Love’, which certainly marks a new era for him in terms of sound. Also making a return to the music scene are 00s duo Daphne and Celeste with their new track ‘BB’.

We were also treated to a few exciting collaborations this week. First off, Marshmello and Anne-Marie teamed up for the sassy ‘FRIENDS’, whilst Calum Scott gave his single ‘You Are The Reason’ a bit of a revamp by releasing a new duet version with Leona Lewis.

The Fifty Shades Freed soundtrack was released on Friday, which includes tracks from Julia Michaels, Sia, Whethan & Dua Lipa, and more. There were also new offerings from Nadine CoyleSaara Aalto, RSO Richie Sambora + Orianthi, Christina Martin, No No Yeah Okay, The Faim and Rothwell.

You might be full up on food today thanks to it being Pancake Day, however, everyone always has room for more music, right? Here’s eight new offerings for your enjoyment.

:PM – ‘Feel Like A Fool’

After an exciting 2017 which saw them release their debut single ‘Grown Ups’ and B-side track ‘Goodbye’, Yorkshire five-piece :PM are back with a bang for 2018 with new single ‘Feel Like A Fool’. Speaking about the track, :PM said: “‘Feel Like A Fool’ was one of the earliest songs we wrote. We think it’s a song that anybody can release to in one way or another so hopefully it will connect with everyone like it does with us!”. ‘Feel Like A Fool’ is full of playful and witty lyrics which shows off the band’s personality, and is the perfect track to kickstart their year.

Amery – ‘Blame’

Amery is back with the tropical tinged ‘Blame’, the follow up to ‘I Need Lovin” and his debut single ‘So Good’. Written with Amra Dorjbaya and James Lowland, the track shows a different side to Amery, reflecting on an asymmetrical relationship from the past. Speaking about the track, he said: “This song is very special to me because I was in a relationship where I felt like I gave so much while not getting anything in return, he confided. Blame tells the story of a guy who did everything he could to please his girlfriend but as a result, she only seems to want more. So he starts wondering: ‘She’s not that into you? Maybe she’s playing with you?’. They’re just not connected to each other anymore.”

Felix Jaehn featuring Marc E. Bassy and Gucci Mane – ‘Cool’

Felix Jaehn has released his latest track ‘Cool’ featuring Marc E. Bassy and Gucci Mane. The track is taken from his forthcoming album which is due for release on February 16. The track is instantly infectious and combines Felix’s captivating production, Marc’s effortless vocals and Gucci’s slick rapping. The accompanying music video features a wide array of characters, each of which draw upon their own unique style of dance and self-expression. Shot by Drew Kirsch in Los Angeles, the visual highlights the the lyric ‘Remember you told me you’d never forget where you came from‘, with Drew and Felix repeatedly stressing the importance of unadulterated authenticity.

Cup Check – Continuity EP

Chicago alternative rock band Cup Check have released their brand new EP Continuity. The five-track offering features ‘Selfish’, ‘Tightrope’, ‘Cortland’, ‘Bad Luck’ and ‘It’s A Beautiful Day To Save Lives’. Not only does the EP represent the band’s solid musical identity but it also highlights elements of their experimentation. Speaking about the EP, Cup Check said: “We took our time bringing every element of the record together. Being able to step outside our comfort zones and experiment with new elements and ideas was crucial for what we wanted to achieve. We wanted to create something unique that takes influence from a variety of genres.”

Marian Hill – ‘Subtle Things’

Marian Hill, made up of Jeremy Lloyd and Samantha Gongol, are back with their new single ‘Subtle Thing’. The track is the follow-up to their debut album Act One and platinum single ‘Down’. ‘Subtle Thing’ builds on the signature sound that transformed the pair into a ubiquitous electronic R&B sensation. Powered by airy percussion and rich production, the track feels as catchy as it does cinematic and prepares us for Marian Hill’s highly anticipated sophomore album. The duo will also be embarking on a full-scale North American headline tour which kicks off in April.

Dzeko VS Waves – ‘Heart Speak’ remix featuring TOKA-J

Canadian producer Dzeko has teamed up with duo Waves for a remix of ‘Heart Speak’ featuring TOKA-J. Released via Tiësto’s label Musical Freedom, the remix is about to leave you feeling uplifted. Speaking about the remix, Dzeko said: “So excited to put this remix out with my buddies. It has such an amazing energy on the drop and works so well during live sets!”. Waves added: “We’re pumped about this remix, as it’s a first major label release. We loved the original ‘Heart Speak’ and it was an honour to be able to remix this one with Dzeko himself.”

Kiko Bun – ‘Stay Bless’

‘Stay Bless’ is the new single from North-West London based singer-songwriter, producer, vocalist and classically trained multi-instrumentalist Kiko Bun. Speaking about the single, he told Notion: “‘Stay Bless’ is a light-hearted, carefree mirror of my life. I like to see the funny side in things and get on with it. Made this one with my mate Dom from The Nextmen and we were jumping around the room when we first listened back to the chorus after we recorded it. It’s the first tune I’ve sworn in so much and it feels good. It’s about scenarios in my life that don’t exactly go to plan but I stay positive and not let them get me down. Also how I quite like talking to people about my day, like back in the day when neighbours would catch up in the street. Was a proper exciting recording session. Like all of them are with Dom really, and he lets me smoke out the window.”

Marshall Cecil – ‘Beautiful World’

‘Beautiful World’ is the new single from Danish electronic trio Marshall Cecil. Speaking about the track, Marshall Cecil said: “‘Beautiful World’ further expands upon our unique ability to combine and intertwine the melancholic with the uplifting, the personal with the grandiose. Cruising on a hip-hop driven synth beat, the track finds us venturing through the baffling conflicts and political absurdities of the world, searching for personal salvation of the mind.”

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina