new music round up

New Music Round Up: 20/02/18

Welcome back to another CelebMix New Music Round Up, and boy is it bursting at the seams with new tracks!

Khalid and Normani lead this week’s new releases with their sultry collaboration, ‘Love Lies’. The track is taken from the soundtrack to the forthcoming movie, Love, Simon. The Chainsmokers also dropped a dark new single called ‘You Owe Me’, complete with the ultimate plot twist of a music video.

Andy Brown treated us to an EP of country covers whilst Delta Goodrem showed us a new side to her sound with ‘Think About You’. Production trio Disciples also dropped a new track called ’48HRS’ ahead of their sold out show at London’s KOKO.

Other new releases, remixes and covers came from Demi Lovato, Niall Horan, Ellie GouldingRoss HarrisROZES x Nicky Romero, INNA, Dami Im, Ruth Lorenzo, Saara Aalto, EssyBud Sugar, Nora En Pure, AARXN, Triana Park, Little Nikki & Dave Silcox, Holander, RJ Thompson, SOPHIE, Fly By Midnight, TOWNE, and Kim Petras.

Have you managed to keep up yet? If so, we’ve got even MORE new tracks for your enjoyment below.

PRETTYMUCH – ‘10,000 Hours’

‘10,000 Hours’ is the latest single from the hottest new boyband on the block, PRETTYMUCH. The track was a huge fan favourite on their recent tour, so it’s no surprise that the track has been given single status. ‘10,000 Hours’ follows on from ‘No More’ featuring French Montana, ‘Open Arms’, ‘Teacher’, and ‘Would You Mind’.

Sean Paul, David Guetta and Becky G – ‘Mad Love’

Sean Paul is back with another banger called ‘Mad Love’. This time, he has teamed up with French DJ David Guetta and rising pop princess. Becky G. Speaking about the track, Sean said: “I’ve been working on this record for a long time. It was a pleasure to work with David Guetta and his team as we got the production to the perfect sound. It was also great to work with Becky G and her team. ‘Nuff love to all of them! The song is full of energy and I can’t wait for people to hear it!”

Hannah Jane Lewis – ‘Aftershock’

After the success of her previous single ‘Raincheck’, rising star Hannah Jane Lewis is back with the excellent ‘Aftershock’. Speaking about the track, she said: “I wrote it with one of my friends. It’s a song about when you break up with someone and are positive about being over them but you see them with someone new and makes you feel weird. It is about the feeling of aftershock.”

Lion Babe – ‘Honey Dew’

‘Honey Dew’ is the new offering from duo Lion Babe, made up of Jillian Hervey and Lucas Goodman. The track follows on from the release of the visual for ‘Rockets’ featuring Moe Moks. Both tracks are taken from Lion Babe’s forthcoming project which is due later this year.

Anjulie – ‘Dancing with Girls’

‘Dancing with Girls’ is the new single from Anjulie. Speaking about the track, Anjulie said: “‘Dancing with Girls’ is about the unshakeable solace, safety, freedom and solidarity found in female friendship. Maybe one day I’ll be ready to tell all of my #metoo stories. Until then I’ll tell them the only way I know how, through my art.”

Youngr – ‘Remember’

Adding to his accolade of recent re-works, Youngr is back once more with the release of ‘Remember’. The track gets the Youngr treatment with him adding a unique twist on the Michael McDonald original ‘I Keep Forgetting’ which was later sampled by Warren G and Nate Dogg on ‘Regulate’. Along with being a huge fan of the original himself, Youngr decided to re-work the track as it was one of his mum’s favourite songs when he was growing up.

Wave Break – ‘Plaster City’

Boston pop punk band Wave Break are back with their second single ‘Plaster City’, an anthemic track written by lead vocalist Kelly Barber. Speaking about the track, the band said: “‘Plaster City’ is an upbeat anthem about standing up to those who try to tear you down. It’s a metaphor for a state of mind that’s incredibly difficult, if at all possible, to get out of. This song is by far the most aggressive one on our upcoming EP.”

Redfoo & VINAI – ‘Everything I Need’

‘Everything I Need’ is a collaboration between LMFAO star Redfoo and Italian DJing brothers VINAI. Speaking about the track, Redfoo said: “‘Everything I Need’ was written to communicate love and passion in a relationship that has started to show signs of doubt. Creating music with VINAI is effortless ‘cause we have a true artistic connection.” VINAI added: “We really enjoyed working with Redfoo. He’s one of the nicest people we’ve ever met. He has an amazing voice and he was one of our idols at the beginning of our career. We really hope you guys will love this song as much as we do.”

APEK featuring Carly Paige – ‘Upside Down’

APEK is back for 2018 with more astounding melodies in new single, ‘Upside Down’ featuring
Carly Paige. Speaking about the track, APEK said: “This song is really special to me. It’s been a year and a half in the making, and I couldn’t be happier with the result. I think everyone will take away a certain experience they’ve had in their life that this song will remind them of. A relationship so intense that it turns your world upside down. Carly Paige is a rockstar and it was a pleasure working with her, and I’m really excited to hear what everyone thinks of the song!”

Greta Jaime – ‘Static (Exchanges)’

Emerging artist Greta Jaime is back with her new single, ‘Static (Exchanges)’, the follow up to her enchanting debut ‘Lost in Mexico’. Speaking about her new offering, Greta said: “‘Static (Exchanges)’ is a song I wrote when I had a lot of frustration I wanted to capture. It’s about the two sides of an interaction. The one side where there are sparks of possibilities and the other where nothing happens, leaving only indifference.”

WAYI – ‘The Way I Am’

‘The Way I Am’ is the debut single from 24 year old singer-songwriter WAYI. Spealing about the track, she said: “I almost lost myself to a man who liked me but not enough to accept me with all my flaws. Unconsciously, I started changing just to please him. Now that I’ve learned from it, I’s just say ‘fuck it’. You take the good and the bad or you leave it all!”

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina