Russia Has Released Julia Samoylova’s Eurovision Song Titled “I Won’t Break”

We’ve known for over a month that Julia Samoylova will be representing Russia at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018. She initially intended to represent her country last year; however, she was banned from entering Ukraine – the host country – due to previously performing in Crimea which was annexed by Russia in 2014. This is a law in the host country, which Julia Samoylova had broken, hence why she was banned from entering the host country and therefore couldn’t perform at the 2017 Eurovision contest.

After all that drama last year, it’s nice to see that Russia upheld their promise of bringing Julia Samoylova back for the following year. Her dream to perform on the Eurovision stage is finally coming true. Last year, she was meant to sing “Flame Is Burning“, but now she’s got a brand new song that we much prefer, titled “I Won’t Break”. An accompanying music video has been dropped too.

The song was written by Leonid Gutkin, Netta Nimrodi, and Arie Burshtein. “I Won’t Break” is filled with such inspiring lyrics that will certainly be expressed by Julia Samoylova to the viewers at home. The thing we’re all wondering is what the staging will be like, as Russia is certainly known for giving it their all on stage.

Watch Julia Samoylova’s Music Video To Eurovision Song “I Won’t Break” Here:

The music video accompanies the song brilliantly, and Julia Samoylova looks a total vision throughout. She completely nails this song in the visual and it certainly excites us to see what she brings come May.

All 43 contestants of the Eurovision Song Contest has now been announced. Here’s our full list:  Sennek for BelgiumSaara Aalto for FinlandWaylon for the NetherlandsAISEL for AzerbaijanCesar Sampson for AustriaJessica Mauboy for AustraliaEugent Bushpepa for AlbaniaIriao for GeorgiaMadame Monsieur for FranceJulia Samoylova for RussiaAlfred & Amaia for SpainMikolas Josef for the Czech RepublicRyan O’Shaughnessy for IrelandEleni Foureira for CyprusChristabelle for MaltaZibbz for SwitzerlandSuRie for the United KingdomRasmussen for DenmarkErmal Meta & Fabrizio Moro for ItalyEye Cue for F.Y.R MacedoniaFranka for CroatiaNetta Barzilai for IsraelGianna Terzi for GreeceAlekseev for BelarusVanja Radovanovic for MontenegroSanja Ilic & Balkanika for SerbiaMichael Schulte for GermanyDoReDos for MoldovaAWS for HungaryMélovin for UkraineLaura Rizzotto for LatviaLea Sirk for SloveniaThe Humans for RomaniaSevak Khanagyan for ArmeniaAri Ólafsson for IcelandElina Nechayeva for EstoniaGromee featuring Lukas Meijer for PolandJessike featuring Jenifer Brening for San MarinoClaudia Pascoal for PortugalAlexander Rybak for NorwayBenjamin Ingrosso for Sweden, EQUINOX for Bulgaria, and Netta for Israel.

After Salvador Sobral won for Portugal, last year, with “Amar Pelos Dois”; the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 will be hosted at the Altice Arena, Lisbon, Portugal; with the two Semi-Finals taking place on 8 May and 10 May and the Grand Final taking place on 12 May. A total of 43 countries will compete in the contest.

Does Julia Samoylova have a chance of winning Eurovision 2018 with “I Won’t Break”? Let us know your thoughts on this song on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

29-year-old writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: