Iceland choose Ari Ólafsson as their 2018 Eurovision representative

Last night, Ari Ólafsson became the winner of Iceland’s national selection show (Söngvakeppnin 2018) to choose a representative for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. Ari Ólafsson will perform “Your Choice” – a ballad – in the first semi-final in Lisbon this May.

The contest was organised by the Icelandic broadcaster RÚV and featured twelve artists across two semi-finals. In the semi-finals, all artists had to perform their songs in Icelandic. The top three from each semi-final then went on to compete in the grand final of the competition last night, where they could perform in the language of their choice. A combined jury and public voted selected the top two entries before the public selected Ari Ólafsson as the overall winner.

You can watch Ari Ólafsson perform “Your Choice” below:


Iceland first entered the Eurovision Song Contest back in 1986 and they have yet to win the contest. They have, however, came close to winning on two occasions, firstly with Selma in 1999 and in 2009 with Yohanna. Iceland has not fared well at Eurovision in recent years though, failing to qualify for the final for the last three years, even with fan favourite Greta Salóme representing the country in 2016.

Iceland will be hoping they can break their recent trend and make it through to the grand final this year, however, they already have some tough competition. Other acts that have been announced so far are Sennek for BelgiumSaara Aalto for FinlandWaylon for the NetherlandsAISEL for AzerbaijanCesar Sampson for AustriaJessica Mauboy for AustraliaEugent Bushpepa for Albania, Iriao for Georgia, Madame Monsieur for France, Julia Samoylova for RussiaAlfred & Amaia for SpainMikolas Josef for the Czech RepublicRyan O’Shaughnessy for IrelandEleni Foureira for CyprusChristabelle for MaltaZibbz for SwitzerlandSuRie for the United KingdomRasmussen for Denmark, Ermal Meta and Fabrizio Moro for ItalyEye Cue for F.Y.R Macedonia, Franka for Croatia, Netta Barzilai for Israel, Gianna Terzi for Greece, Alekseev for BelarusVanja Radovanovic for Montenegro, Sanja Ilic and Balkanika for Serbia, Michael Schulte for Germany, DoReDos for Moldova,  AWS for Hungary, Mélovin for Ukraine, Laura Rizzotto for LatviaLea Sirk for Slovenia, The Humans for Romania and Sevak Khanagyan for Armenia.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2018 will be hosted at the Altice Arena, Lisbon, Portugal; with the two Semi-Finals taking place on 8 May and 10 May and the Grand Final taking place on 12 May. A total of 43 countries will compete in the contest.

Finally, don’t forget to let us know your thoughts on Iceland’s selection of Ari Ólafsson for this year’s Eurovision. You can tweet us your thoughts on Twitter @CelebMix.


Written by Lynn Macgillivray

I'm Lynn - a writer, accountant and lover of all things music (especially a good boyband). Twitter: @xxitslynn