new music round up

New Music Round Up: 08/05/18

Welcome back to CelebMix’s New Music Round Up. We hope you’re sitting comfortably, as we have without doubt one of the biggest round ups we’ve ever shared with you.

This week saw a mammoth number of new releases from a whole host of our favourite artists. In fact, we’re still reeling from the sheer volume of incredible tracks that have been unveiled over the past seven days.

Kicking things off are Shawn Mendes and Khalid. They released their stunning new collaboration ‘Youth’, taken from Shawn’s forthcoming self-titled album, on Thursday. The track has won the hearts of many due to its poignant lyrics inspired by the tragic terrorist attack which took place after Ariana Grande’s concert in Manchester last year.

Vocal powerhouse Christina Aguilera made her long awaited comeback this week. The songstress released ‘Accelerate’ with Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz, and announced her forthcoming album Liberation which will be released in June.

Charlie Puth will be releasing his highly anticipated sophomore album Voicenotes in a few days time, but that didn’t stop the talented singer from giving fans one last treat in the form of ‘The Way I Am’. The unapologetic track sums up Charlie to a tee and is the perfect final release before the album drops.

Julia Michaels also dropped new music this week. Teaming up with Trippie Redd, the incredible singer-songwriter released ‘Jump’ and also unveiled a super clever lyric video for the catchy track. Marshmello also released another new track, this time teaming up with rapper Juicy J and singer-songwriter James Arthur for ‘You Can Cry’.

A last minute addition to the round up, Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino released ‘This Is America’ after performing it during his stint on Saturday Night Live. The track has been teamed up with a powerful visual which will definitely make you think twice.

This week also saw new releases from Enrique Iglesias & Pitbull, Celine Dion, Florence & The Machine, Raye, :PM, Troye Sivan, Sonny, KiSMiT, PRTTY BOYS, Inna, Danny Dearden & The HolografikStephen Karl & Handsome Animals and Darlin Darlin, October Rose, Ashley Delima, Nick Lopez, Barei, BRKE, State Champs, Zach Callison, Zealand, Jimmie Allen, and Sam DeRosa. Wow!

Room for more? Of course you have! Here are a few more new offerings which may have slipped under your radar.

Jess Glynne – ‘I’ll Be There’

Following the roaring success of her ‘These Days’ collaboration with Rudimental, Macklemore and Dan Caplen, Jess Glynne makes a welcome solo return this week with her new single ‘I’ll Be There’. With lyrics such as “When you need a little love, I got a little love to share / Yeah, I’m gonna, I’m gonna, I’m gonna come through / You’ll never be alone, I’ll be there for you / Oh, I swear, I got enough love for two”, the track is a sweet, uplifting offering which sees Jess pledge that she will always be there for you whatever the weather.

LSD – ‘Genius’

LSD is the brainchild of three of our favourite artists: Labrinth, Sia and Diplo (their initials make LSD, get it?). Whilst they’ve all been slaying in their own right, the trio have decided to join forces to create a new supergroup, with their first offering being ‘Genius’. As expected, the track is music perfection, combining Diplo’s slick production with Labrinth and Sia’s distinct vocals. What’s not to love?

Great Good Fine Ok – ‘Change’

‘Change’ is the new single from rising synth-pop duo Great Good Fine Ok, taken from their forthcoming EP which will drop this fall. Speaking about the track, Great Good Fine Ok said: “‘Change’ is about falling in love with the way someone is at a specific moment in time, and hoping that they won’t ever change. In many cases people are multi-dimensional and are the products of their past, in both positive and negative ways. There is nothing worse than the fear of falling in love with a version of someone that won’t last. The song asks ‘Is having a change of heart a real thing?’ We all experience changing our minds, but maybe the heart knows exactly what it wants all along and we just have to let it win”.

Jesse and the Dandelions – ‘Not Getting Your Way’

‘Not Getting Your Way’ is the latest offering from Jesse and the Dandelions. Speaking about the track, they said: “‘Not Getting Your Way’ is a song about people who have been handed everything, and how they respond when things don’t go as planned for them. It’s fun to be lyrically cheeky, and mysterious at the same time. It’s a sort of guitar heavy crossover between Teenage Wasteland and songs from MGMT’s debut record. It feels really good to play live, and is probably the most rock and roll song that we’ve ever created. That being said, it’s still thick with vocal harmonies and all the other dreamy, psychedelic elements that I’ve grown rather fond of over the last few years.”

Jules Rendell – ‘The Return’

‘The Return’ is the third single to be taken from Jules’ debut album, IMAGINE. The track showcases Jules’ stirring and soulful vocals, and has been accompanied by yet another powerful visual, something which the singer-songwriter has now become synonymous with. Speaking of her new song, Jules said: “We spend our lives worrying about things that don’t really matter. We chase after success, value achievement and stature, but it’s a trap that can tie us up. I think love is what can free us from all of that stuff – I long for that resting place of acceptance.”

Lxandra – ‘Dig Deep’ Acoustic

Finnish songstress Lxandra has shared the stunning acoustic version of her latest single ‘Dig Deep’. We previously covered the original in a past round up however, the acoustic is just too good not to share. Speaking about the track at the time, Lxandra said: “Women quickly become ‘too much’ in the eyes of our society. They are expected to be calm and quiet. This theme is repeated in the video’s visuals. We portray a strong, loud and free woman that many people fear, because the world is still not used to it yet. We’re not just showing the pretty girl next door who keeps her mouth shut. This also reflects the #MeToo campaign. It’s about speaking out when things are unfair.”

Sara Diamond – ‘Fool’

Montreal singer-songwriter Sara Diamond returns this week with her new single ‘Fool’. Speaking about the track, she said: “It’s easy to feel like a fool when we give other people the power to control how we feel. No one can take away my happiness except my own ego. This song is about taking my power back and becoming the woman I know I can be.”

Taao Kross – ‘Start A Fight’

DJ and producer Taao Kross is back with his brand new single ‘Start A Fight’, featuring Haneri. The track powerfully showcases Taao’s ability to put forward undeniably catchy material and hooks you in immediately. Haneri provides irresistible vocals which add to the song’s charm. The chorus drop is completely infectious and is bound to go down well at any party this summer.

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina