Natalia Gordienko

Natalia Gordienko Is Set To Represent Moldova At Eurovision 2020

Natalia Gordienko has been announced as Moldova’s representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 with her track Prison.

In order to choose an act for the competition, a national selection called O Melodie Pentru Europa was held in which 20 acts took part. The winner was chosen from a combination of jury and televotes from which Natalia was successful.

This will not be the singer’s first involvement with Eurovision as in 2005 with her band Millennium she placed third in the national selection for the main event. But in 2006 she went one better with Arsenium, representing the country in the final and placing 20th. Hopefully, Natalia’s third experience will bring an even better result.

Prison sings of being in a relationship where you’re pulled in a number of directions due to conflicting emotions. With captivating, emotive vocals reaching out to the listeners you find yourself feeling the pain experienced. These powerful feelings have been shaped into a big ballad with an electronic undertone. Written by the team behind Sergey Lazarev’s Scream which was showcased in Tel Aviv, the video for the track which is seen below was developed by Kirkorov and Dimitris Kontopoulos.

Moldova’s experience in Eurovision started back in 2005 where they placed sixth thanks to Zdob Si Zdub and they’ve since reached the grand final ten times. Their peak result came in 2017 with SunStroke Project taking them to the top 3. Natalia Gordienko will partake in the second semi-final on 14th May.

The Eurovision 2020 acts that have been announced so far are Blas Cantó for SpainHooverphonic for BelgiumVICTORIA for BulgariaSandro for CyprusVincent Bueno for AustriaArilena Ara for AlbaniaTornike Kipiani for GeorgiaJeangu Macrooy for the NetherlandsVasil for North MacedoniaTom Leeb for FranceBenny Cristo for the Czech RepublicEden Alene for IsraelStefania for GreeceMontaigne for AustraliaSamanta Tina for LatviaDiodato for ItalyDestiny Chukunyere for MaltaRoxen for RomaniaTHE ROOP for LithuaniaUlrikke Brandstorp for NorwayAthena Manoukian for ArmeniaAlicja Szemplinska for PolandJames Newman for the UKSamira Efendi for AzerbaijanAna Soklic for SloveniaBen Dolic for Germany, Uku Suviste for Estonia and Daði og Gagnamagnið for Iceland. The remaining countries are expected to reveal their acts in the coming week.

The 65th edition of Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted at the Rotterdam Ahoy, Rotterdam, The Netherlands after Duncan Laurence won the 2019 contest with the song “Arcade”. The two Semi-Finals will take place on 12 May 2020 and 14 May 2020, with the Grand Final taking place on 16 May 2020. A total of 41 countries will compete in the contest.

What do you think of Moldova’s entry? Tweet us @CelebMix and let us know!

Written by Nicola Craig

Lover of all things pop, a boyband or two, and discovering new artists to get hooked on. You'll usually find me at a gig, truly living my best life without a care in the world.